The ‘Gänseliesel’ (Goose Girlis), a historical fountain erected in 1901, represents the most well-known landmark of the city of Goettingen.
Editorial Board

The Editorial Board is the journal’s backbone. For the most part, it comprises of current law students at the University of Goettingen.

Reviewing cited sources, acquisitioning new articles, organizing conferences and workshops, raising funds, technical support of the website and all other necessary tasks are run by this group.


Victoria Stillig
Ida Oks
Vanessa Schobek
Managing Editors
Paul Thiessen
Christina Nyiri
Michelle Siedlok
Rieke Emtmann
Gesche Butenschön
Navina Hasper
Maximilian Heinze
Evère Henrich
Carolin Jaquemoth
Morgaine Jelitko
Isabel Kaiser
Pia Lempert
Anna Maas
Markus Meyer
Julia Müller
Marius Münkel
Jadziah Abu Mugheisib
Tobias Nielson
Daniel Polej
Julius Quint
Annemarie Schaupp
Michel Schütt
Nils Schlüter
Fabian Shirani
Jacqueline Walde
Lea Woiwod


Former members

Advisory Board

The members of our Advisory Board, which has come to include professors and practitioners from around the world, provide indispensable advice on how to place GoJIL on the map of internationally acclaimed academic journals.


Name Institute
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Kai Ambos University of Goettingen, Judge Kosovo Specialist Chambers
Prof. Dr. Thomas Buergenthal George Washington University, former Judge of the International Court of Justice
Prof. Dr. Christian Calliess, LL.M. Freie Universität Berlin
Prof. Dr. Georg Nolte International Law Commission, Humboldt University of Berlin
Prof. Dr. Angelika Nußberger, M.A. Vice-President and former Judge of the European Court of Human Rights, University of Cologne
Prof. Dr. Andreas L. Paulus Judge at the Federal Constitutional Court, University of Goettingen
Prof. Dr. Dietrich Rauschning University of Goettingen
Prof. Dr. Walter Reese-Schäfer University of Goettingen
Prof. Dr. Frank Schorkopf University of Goettingen
Prof. Dr. Anja Seibert-Fohr, LL.M. European Court of Human Rights, University of Heidelberg
Prof. Dr. Bruno Simma University of Michigan, former Judge of the International Court of Justice
Prof. Dr. Peter-Tobias Stoll University of Goettingen
Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board consists of emerging scholars specialized in public international law who offer their immeasurable support in everyday challenges inherent to publishing. Their assistance and valuable reviews in GoJIL’s peer review process ensure the academic standard of the Journal.


Name Institute
Patrick Abel, MJur University of Goettingen
Prof. Dr. Stefanie Bock University of Marburg
Mario G. Aguilera Bravo, LL.M University of Goettingen
Prof. Dr. Christian Djeffal Technical University of Munich
Anne Dienelt, Maîtrise en Droit University of Hamburg
Dr. Henner Gött, LL.M University of Goettingen
Sué González Hauck University of St. Gallen
Jan-Henrik Hinselmann University of Goettingen
Dr. Till Holterhus, MLE., LL.M. University of Goettingen
Dr. Johann Leiss University of Oslo
Matthias Lippold, LL.M. University of Goettingen
Dr. Sven Missling University of Goettingen
Dr. Annika Maleen Gronke (née Poschadel), MLE. Local Court Lörrach
Jakob Quirin World Health Organisation
Maja Smrkolj, LL.M. European Commission
Dr. Ignaz Stegmiller University of Gießen
Torsten Stirner University of Goettingen
Dr. Tobias Thienel, LL.M. Weissleder Ewer, Kiel
Assoc. Prof. Markus Wagner, J.S.M. University of Warwick


Former members

Native Speaker Board

The Board of Native Speakers is the third pillar in GoJIL's supportive structure and enables GoJIL to provide a complementary native speaker proofreading. The group consists of highly qualified lawyers who are specialized in international law, holding LL.M.s or equivalent degrees.

Neela Badami
Elisabeth Campbell
Deepaloke Chatterjee
Andrea Ewing
Liam Halewood
Rahul Menon
Alexander Murray
Paul Pryce
Erik M. Tikannen


Former members